VMware Cloud Community
jonbrave
Contributor
Contributor

Unable to change IP network address

Dear Community,

I am desperate so I am really hoping you will be kind enough to help.

I am a VMware/ESXi beginner.  I am a techie but I am not a network administrator, and am totally confused.  I will try to keep this brief as I don't know what information is/is not relevant.  Am more than happy to provide any further information, but would appreciate it if answers are kept simple-ish as I don't know the terms/technology.

I have an ESXi 7.0.2 which was commissioned at my office.  There it worked fine.  I seem to have assigned it a static IP address of 192.168.10.10.  Everything in the office is on 192.168.10.x.  I use the vSphere web browser GUI client.

I have had to move it to home.  Here my network is on 192.168.100.x.  I cannot access/view/change any settings on the fibre router I have from my supplier.

Obviously at this point I can no longer connect to the ESXi on the 192.169.10.x network.  I have had to temporarily change a PC's static address onto that 10.x network so that I can log onto it.

I go to change the TCP/IP v4 settings on vmk0.  I click Edit Settings.  Subnet mask is indeed 255.255.255.0.  I change to 192.168.100.100.  When I press Save I get red error "Operation failed, Network Unreachable" and it won't alter the IP address.

I try instead moving it from Static Address to DHCP.  When I press Save I get red error "A specified parameter was not correct".

As an exercise I try changing from 192.168.10.10 to 192.168.10.9.  That change is allowed.  I reboot etc. and am able to reconnect on the new 192.168.10.x address.

I really have Googled and am unable to find anything to help me/mentioning these errors.  All the posts I find say I am doing the right thing and it should change and reboot and I will be able to connect on the new network.  Nothing explains why I am unable to change from 192.168.10.x to 192.168.100.x.