VMware Cloud Community
dstpaul
Contributor
Contributor

Trying to add array to ESXi VM, 'select' grayed out

I'm totally new to VM.  Have a new HP server with two raid arrays and 20 cores.

Have created two VM's, both using disk storage from Array1.  Need to add Array2 space to SQL server vm, however when I edit and try to add existing array the 'select' button is grayed out.

Also, next week we'll be getting server# two, an identical HP server for Exchange - how do I add the new server to the first ESXi

I like what I've seen so far

Dunbar

0 Kudos
7 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

For your “Array 2” space, datastores are the target areas for virtual disks and the other files needed to run your VMs, so unless you have a datastore created on “Array 2” you won’t be able to add any virtual disks.

It is usually the case that a single disk/array will contain 1 large datastore occupying the maximum space available, however it is not usually the case that you only use a single disk/array for a single virtual disk.

Sounds like you want to manage the 2 hosts centrally, to do that you will need to deploy vCenter Server.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
dstpaul
Contributor
Contributor

so what do I need to buy to make two servers into 4 VM's

0 Kudos
NathanosBlightc
Commander
Commander

how do I add the new server to the first ESXi