VMware Cloud Community
Dario19
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Storage clustered

Hello,

I'm new in Vmware world and I'm a bit confused.

This would be the result I want to achieve:

2 Hosts clustered / 10/15 VMs stored in 2 clustered datastore (NAS)

First of all, does it make sense or is there a better way to obtain HA?

Is it possible with Essentials Plus Kit?

Thank you for your answer

dario

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
virtualg_uk
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Yes many high end servers will utilise a single internal SD or USB for the ESXI installation, this is the norm now unless you can boot from SAN etc. The advantage is that there are no spinning disks to fail and SD/USB is far cheaper. When ESXi loads, it loads into memory so having a disk there is just a waste of space and money. Some systems (Dell) support redundancy on the SD cards, so you can put in 2 SD cards for the ESXi install and it will mirror one to the other. If one fails it will use the other. If you dont have this and SD fails, ESXi will still continue running until the next reboot. ESXi is very quick to install again if needed anyway.

For SQL server performance, depending on how many IOPS you require / how busy the server is, NAS can be a good option, it generally depends on how many IOPS the NAS can deliver to the application (This is determined by how many disks you have in the NAS and their type etc) See here for a calculator: Disk RAID and IOPS | The Cloud Calculator

I would vary rarely recommend standard local disk configurations for anything as you lose HA and vMotion abilities between hosts in a cluster.

SAN can have better performance but it all depends on the bandwidth available to it and the IOPS you require, for small DBs NAS can work well.

Graham | User Moderator | https://virtualg.uk

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
virtualg_uk
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hello,