VMware Cloud Community
dleggett811
Contributor
Contributor

Storage-Hard Drive Installation

I am new to VMWare and recently added two 146GB hard drives on our HP Smart Array P400 controller which is running ESXI 5.0.   I have expanded this and extended on our controller.   I need to be able for this to show up on our datastore which it isn't and then need to provision them out to a couple different servers.   Could someone help me out or point me in the right direction?   Thanks for your help!.

Derrick

14 Replies
admin
Immortal
Immortal

Hello,

Follow this KB : it might need an increase

VMware KB: Growing or expanding a VMFS volume or datastore

Let me know if this does not help.,

Thanks,
Avinash

abhilashhb
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

When you add more space on the storage side it will not show up on the datastore. You need to go to your Host---->Configuration---Right click the datastore you need to expand---->Increase. And the added space will show up there which can be expanded.

expand1.jpg

expand2.jpg

expand3.jpg

Abhilash B
LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/in/abhilashhb/

dleggett811
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your help, I will look into that.

0 Kudos
dleggett811
Contributor
Contributor

Do I need to take this offline to make these changes?   These are in production.

0 Kudos
abhilashhb
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

No you can do it on the fly. Do it after hours to avoid any issues.

If you found the answer useful, consider awarding points by choosing correct/helpful answer Smiley Happy

Abhilash B

a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

I may be wrong, but increasing the datastore on the installation disk isn't supported as far as I know. From what I understood you expanded the logical volume rather than creating a second one on the additional disk space in the RAID set!? What may work is to increase the size from the command line.

André

dleggett811
Contributor
Contributor