VMware Cloud Community
eng20196
Contributor
Contributor

Static IPs for Virtual Machines

Greetings,  I'm new to the ESXi5.1 and can't seem to locate a way to assign static IPs to Virtual Machines.

My environment:  ESXi5.1 installed on PowerEdge server with 4 Ethernet port NIC.

2 Virtual Machines (VMs) running CentOS-7 Minimal

Connecting from VSphere Client to ESXI server over Port 0 of the NIC

Port 0 of the server NIC is the Management Interface connected to vswitch0 with static IP 192.168.208.x

No other machines are associated with this switch/interface.

Port 1 of the server NIC is connected to vswitch1 and has two VMs connected to it. VLAN100 to VM1 and VLAN200 to VM2

Port 2 of the server NIC is connected to vswitch2 and has the same two VMs connected to it without VLANs.

Port 3 of the server NIC is unused at this time.

Port 0 static IP was assigned when installing the ESXi software on the server.  Port 1 requires no IP address and will operate in promiscuous mode.

Port 2 will be connected to a 10.10.x.x network and requires a static IP/Gateway/DNS.  I can't locate the form to assign it.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

7 Replies
vAMenezes
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Seems like there is some confusion here. Are you trying to assign static IPs to your VMs as the title of the question states, or to the port group within that virtual switch you created? Did you create a port group within that vswitch2? Maybe that's what you're missing. Or if I'm wrong just please clarify.

0 Kudos
eng20196
Contributor
Contributor

Yes, I am needing to assign static IPs to the VMs.  There are 4 physical interfaces on the server.  I have only been able to assign one IP address and that's the management IP.

Very odd.  I have VM's connected to VS's but can't assign static IPs.  or don't know how.

Thanks

0 Kudos
eng20196
Contributor
Contributor