VMware Cloud Community
srivard
Contributor
Contributor

So lost, need help please!

Hello, i am an IT consultant and not so experience with vmware.

We have a project at a client and i need to clarify some things with you my friends

Here is the plan

We have currently 18 standalone server in 1 location

We have 1 main office and a second office connected with a 10MB line

of the 18 server we have 4 are fairly recent and powerful machine (dual processor and 16GB of ram)

Here is wat i want to do:

Put 6 VM for each server in the main location and have a live backup in the branch office

We want to be able to be fault tolerant in case the main office goes down

here are the questions:)

What version do i need to do that and why(standard, advance enterprise)

I have been told i can buy 1 licenses of 8 processor and install it on my 4 servers, is it right or do i need 4 licenses?

Can VMware do the fault tolerance alone or do i need another product, we are told that we need visoncore to do that

What is the best storage solution, NAS SAN or what i was planing was a direct attache storage on one of the server

We would probably replicate all data to the second site

Thank you very much for the help!

0 Kudos
12 Replies
gary1012
Expert
Expert

Sounds like you need SIte Recovery Manager. Can you define your customer's RPO/RTO?

Community Supported, Community Rewarded - Please consider marking questions answered and awarding points to the correct post. It helps us all.

Community Supported, Community Rewarded - Please consider marking questions answered and awarding points to the correct post. It helps us all.
0 Kudos
PhilippeMasse
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

What version do i need to do that and why(standard, advance enterprise)

Licensing with VMware is a bit confusing. For your needs I would suggest vSphere Standard.