VMware Cloud Community
eversys
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Snaphots - Consolidate or delete?

Prior to a SBS 2003 to SBS 2011 migration, I created a snapshot of my SBS 2003 VM, just incase I ran into problems, I could revert back to the snapshot. The migration was a success. Both servers are still up-and-running and communicating with another, however, I now wish to remove the snapshot of the SBS 2003 VM. Should I consolidate:

snapshot-consolidate.png

or delete:

snapshot-delete.png

What's the difference. Of course, the SBS 2003 needs to continue as usual without data loss.

Many thanks for your feedback.

Regards, Oliver

Tags (3)
Reply
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Wh33ly
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Probably you can use both, I prefer to use the "Remove"option from the snapshot menu to be sure the snapshot is removed.

The consolidate option is also available in case there is no snapshot, but there are snapshot disks active.

Sometimes a snapshot can be removed but in the background the disk consolidation failed. In that case there will not be an option to remove a snapshot, but the disks are still split on the datastore. Now you can use the consolidate option to merge those disks.

See also:

vSphere 5.0 Storage Features Part 9 - Snapshot Consolidate | VMware vSphere Blog - VMware Blogs

View solution in original post

Reply
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Wh33ly
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Probably you can use both, I prefer to use the "Remove"option from the snapshot menu to be sure the snapshot is removed.

The consolidate option is also available in case there is no snapshot, but there are snapshot disks active.

Sometimes a snapshot can be removed but in the background the disk consolidation failed. In that case there will not be an option to remove a snapshot, but the disks are still split on the datastore. Now you can use the consolidate option to merge those disks.

See also:

vSphere 5.0 Storage Features Part 9 - Snapshot Consolidate | VMware vSphere Blog - VMware Blogs

Reply
0 Kudos
ramprabhusekar
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

hi

i suggest to go with snapshot deletion instead consolidation because of below reason.

Consolidating snapshots for a virtual machine

Note: Before you proceed, ensure to consider these points related to snapshot consolidation:

  • The remove snapshot process can take a long time to complete if the snapshots are large. 
  • If the consolidation process is stopped before completing, it may result in data corruption. 
  • Virtual machine performance may be degraded during the snapshot consolidation process.
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

As correctly mentioned by the two other posters you can safely use either option. I prefer "Alle Löschen" in such a case, because this will consolidate all existing snapshots (i.e. merge all changes into the base disk) no matter whether they show up in the snapshot manager or not. In my opinion "Alle Löschen" and "Löschen" was not the best decision for naming the buttons, Consolidate and Consolidate All would be better options.

André

Reply
0 Kudos
vervoortjurgen
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

hi

why keep the sbs 2003 after migration?

sbs2003 will shut down after few weeks

i would delete the snapshot if the migration went well.

and eventually delete the  vm migration.

kind regards Vervoort Jurgen VCP6-DCV, VCP-cloud http://www.vdssystems.be
Reply
0 Kudos