VMware Cloud Community
zacvmnovice
Contributor
Contributor

Should you always restrict resources?

Hi,

Im quite new to ESXi and use both 4.1 and 5 and have had the odd issue where the server seems to freeze everything until rebooted. Looks like a resources issue, i just wondered whether resource pools should be used to restrict resources to stop VMs trying to talk as much resource as possible?

Thanks

Zac

Tags (5)
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Techstarts
Expert
Expert

Configuring resources pool, reservations and limits is strongly recommended in situation where resources are limited.

Analyze your VM's resource usage and allocated them only as much workload needs.

You can analyse your VM's using performance charts in vCenter.

With Great Regards,
0 Kudos
RParker
Immortal
Immortal

zacvmnovice wrote:

Hi,

Im quite new to ESXi and use both 4.1 and 5 and have had the odd issue where the server seems to freeze everything until rebooted. Looks like a resources issue, i just wondered whether resource pools should be used to restrict resources to stop VMs trying to talk as much resource as possible?

Thanks

Zac

Freezing is a driver issue or hardware issue.  Doesn't matter how much memory you have or how much it's being used, should not FREEZE the server.

0 Kudos
zacvmnovice
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the replies.

I presume not a OS driver issue?

If you give a VM a set number of cores and memory is there any chance it can automatically decide it needs more and try and get resource from other VMS?

0 Kudos
golddiggie
Champion
Champion