redan83
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Sharing resources

Hello,

I have the following hardware:

• PowerEdge R510

• Intel Xeon E5630 Processor (2.53GHz, 4C, 12M Cache, 5.86 GT/s QPI, 80W TDP, Turbo, HT), 1066MHz Max Memory

• 8GB Memory for 1CPU (4x2GB Dual Rank RDIMMs) 1066MHz

• 4x HD Hot Plug 300Go SAS 6Gbit/s 15000tr/min 3,5

I would like to install using VMware ESXi 4.1 the following servers :

1) Windows 2008 R2 dedicated to File System and Active Directory

2) Windows 2008 R2 dedicated to Symantec Backup Exec 2010

3) Windows 2008 R2 dedicated to Avaya VOIP Server

As I am no expert to ESXi, how do you recommend I share my resources (processors, memory, harddrive memory) ?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
golddiggie
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Just make sure the HAL is correct when you reduce the processor count... After Server 2003 SP2 you didn't need to do anything special to change the HAL from uni to multi-processor. Other than the server will need to reboot to have the change take effect. I've not needed to do that on the 2008 releases yet... I would imagine that reducing the CPU's turning it from a multi- to uni-processor will require a reboot to have it take effect... Memory can be hot-add, and not require a reboot, but I'm pretty sure that changing the CPU will require bouncing the VM/server... It's still faster than if you had a physical box, but it will take a moment (or two)...

Before making any hardware changes (other than minor ones) I would take a snapshot on that VM... That way you can always roll back to before the change was made and be good again... Don't let the snapshot hang around though. Give it a reasonable amount of time (hours at most) and then delete the snapshot (via the snapshot manager)...