VMware Cloud Community
kgill
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Sharing a disk between Virtual Machines

Hello,

I'm pretty new to VMware so forgive me if this is a silly question. I'm trying to create a shared drive for 2 different Virtual Machines on the same datastore. Each server has thier own C: drive that has thier install in it, that works fine, but i would like them to have a shared E: drive that they can both access. I tried adding a second virtual hard dirve to each machine and pointing it at the same file but the frist machine locks the file so the other won't power up.

Is there another way to do this?

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
naveenvm
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Yes it won't be possible this way. You'll have to use a RDM which could be added as hard disk in both these VMs. For sharing purpose their are two options available i.e.

Virtual - for nodes present at same ESX.

Physical - for nodes present across two different ESX servers.

NUTZ

VCP 3.5

(Preparing for VCP 4)

NUTZ VCP 3.5 (Preparing for VCP 4)

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
naveenvm
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Yes it won't be possible this way. You'll have to use a RDM which could be added as hard disk in both these VMs. For sharing purpose their are two options available i.e.

Virtual - for nodes present at same ESX.

Physical - for nodes present across two different ESX servers.

NUTZ

VCP 3.5

(Preparing for VCP 4)

NUTZ VCP 3.5 (Preparing for VCP 4)
0 Kudos
amvmware
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

Never tried it and i don't think it would work i could see all sorts of issues with permissions to data and both computers trying to access the data at the same time. If they are MS VM's why not create a data shared area on one of the VM's and map a drive to it from the other VM.

Don't forget to leave points for helpful/correct posts.

Datto
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution