VMware Cloud Community
billtenbroeck
Contributor
Contributor

Shared Storage

Hello. I am brand new to VMWare, and I'm trying to setup an ESXi Server to replace 3 standalone servers. My last task before beginning to convert my physical machines over is to setup some sort of shared storage between to virtual machines. I had assumed that a virtual disk would be able to be shared, but according to KB 1012706 "You cannot share the same VMDK between multiple guest operating systems because it would lead to disk corruption." To say I was suprised would be an understatement.

I guess my question is: how do the folks who have been using this for a while deal with this? I'm sure mine is not an isolated need. I'm looking for suggestions and possibly pointers to help figure the best way to approach this. Any idea is welcome.

Thanks kindly.

Bill

0 Kudos
7 Replies
wila
Immortal
Immortal

Hi,

Welcome to the VMware community forums.

>My last task before beginning to convert my physical machines over is to setup some sort of shared storage between to virtual machines. I had assumed that a virtual disk would be able to be shared, but according to KB 1012706 "You cannot share the same VMDK between multiple guest operating systems because it would lead to disk corruption." To say I was suprised would be an understatement.

That's normal and mostly a limitation of a normal guest operating system. You can for example setup Microsoft clustering with a quorum disk, but I don't think that it is what you are asking.

It is the same in the physical world, a plain operating system expects to be the one and only master of the file system and the way we solve this in both physical and the virtual world is by file sharing over a network. Smiley Happy