VMware Cloud Community
W0lfZ
Contributor
Contributor

Setting up LACP between 2 ESXI Hosts.

Hello everyone,

This will be my First post ever on the VM Community.

I've been searching but i've found no solution so far.

First things first. I'm a Dutch IT Student researching alot of things for my internship at a security company.

Now of course they won't let me do wicked sick stuff but they do give me a lot of assignments. Wich i've succeeded so far.

But for my next challenge I'm really going to need some help!

Okay here goes. I'm researching how to connect 2 vms hosted on different physical hosts.

The picture below describes briefly what I'm trying to achieve.

ESXI SETUP.png

I've left out my IP Table because i feel like there are alot of problems there to (or maybe im just looking over something really obvious.

So i have a 24 port Cisco SF300 Series Switch. and 2 physical machines.

One is a host with ESXI 6.5 The other runs ESXI 6.7.

Ive connected Host 1 to Gigabit port 1 and 2.

I've connected Host 2 to gigabit port 3 and 4.

Now i know there is a possibility to gain a 2GB Linkspeed and thats exactly what i'm trying to achieve here.

But somehow i'm not able to get it to work.

Can someone PLEASE help me out with a guide or example build? I feel like i'm missing things and I've been working on this for like a week now.

I'm clueless and i really want to learn how to do this. But i'm not really getting the support that i've hoped for.

Please educate me!

"Man is least themself when he talks in his own person, give him a mask and he'll tell you the truth." -Oscar Wilde
0 Kudos
4 Replies
dbalcaraz
Expert
Expert

Hi!

Yes, of course there are ways to do it.
Well, you will have to set up a LACP between ports on each Switch.

Then, you can set up VLANs in different ways: VMware Knowledge Base

Normally people allow all VLANs that they use (meaning not ALL VLANs, only what you need) and let the vSwitch to tag each packet.