VMware Cloud Community
Caleb73
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Setting up ESXi with DR in mind

I'm somewhat new to vmware and had a question regarding the feasibility of a possible setup.

I am currently going to purchase a new server to host the free version of ESXi.  It is for a small office of 3 so performance is not an issue.  I will have 3 vms on the server a DC, File, and Application server.  What I would like to do is install esxi on a usb drive attached to this server.  Get a NAS with Raid 10 and have all 3 vm's reside on the nas.  If the main server ever goes down, I would like to move the usb drive to a spare desktop that has access to the NAS and use it as a temporary solution until the server can be fixed.  I don't know if this is feasible as the machines will not be the same (server has xeon 2.4, desktop has Pentium 4 dual core).  Can someone please let me know if this is supported and if not what a reliable cheap solution would be that would give me redundancy.  I am okay with geting the hard drives and a raid controller for the server, but in the event of a failure I would like to have an easy reliable process to bring up the backup (desktop).  Also, the data is being backed up via a Continuous backup solution, I am only concerned with bringing the VM's back up should the hardware on the server fail.

Thanks in advance for your help!!!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vMario156
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

If you are running the free version you will not open a support case anyway Smiley Happy  So your main requirement should be a stable solution (which in my opinion should not contain an old desktop pc).

Take two servers (one new, one old as backup, both on HCL) connect them to your NAS and you will have no problems to start your VMs from both hosts. Of course you need to power on this VMs manual if a server crashes, if not using a version which provides the HA feature.

Regards,

Mario

Blog: http://vKnowledge.net