VMware Cloud Community
ans2000
Contributor
Contributor

Really bad disk performance

Hi everyone. I'm new to VMWare, I'm having a really serious case of very poor disk performance and It's getting hard to me to troubleshoot it.

First of all I would like to post some information that may be useful to you.

I'm running VMware ESXi, 4.1.0, 260247. The Server is an HP ProLiant ML 150 G6 - Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5504 @ 2.00GHz - 8GB RAM

I have only 1 VM, Windows SBS 2003 SP2 32bits. Inside the VM we run a custom software with SQL 2005 database. 

Everything worked properly. About 1 month ago I started noticing that our software started to work very slowly at certain hours of the day (One time during the morning and one more in the afternoon).

From vSphere client I could see that the storage system was performing poorly.

Here are some screen shots of the performance charts:

Vitrual disk chart.JPG

Vitrual disk chart 2.JPG

Vitrual disk chart 3.JPG

During During peak usage it's impossible to run our software, it gets really slow. The server never hangs, after a while (First it was 10-15 min, now up to1 hour) performance returns back to normal.

I checked for any process that may be causing de disk to perform slow (Antivirus software, backup software, etc.) and nothing is going on during that time.

I will be very grateful of any help you can give me.

If you need additional information please ask.

Kind regards

Andrés

0 Kudos
7 Replies
RvdNieuwendijk
Leadership
Leadership

Hi Andrés,

Welcome to the VMware VMTN Communities.

I moved your question from Community Website Help to VMware ESXi™ 4.

Blog: https://rvdnieuwendijk.com/ | Twitter: @rvdnieuwendijk | Author of: https://www.packtpub.com/virtualization-and-cloud/learning-powercli-second-edition
0 Kudos
jdptechnc
Expert
Expert

What are you using for storage?  Locally attached disk?  SAN?  NAS?