VMware Cloud Community
Artez
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Raid necessary for ESXi 5.0?

Hello all,

I am quite new to this VMware and this is our company's first trial on implementing VM solution to our test environment.

So please be generous if my question is redundant or I am on a wrong board.

Our server is HP Proliant DL380 G5 and we bought VMware Essential Kit license.  (planning to install ESXi 5.0)

As most of you already know, HP servers have this SmartStart thing that allows user to RAID the drives before OS installation so that if one drive malfunctions, the mirror will do its job until fix.

But when I was reading the other articles, it says ESXi won't recognize software RAID?

Also, don't ESXi have some kind of built in resource distribution system that allows guest VMs to function even if one or two host drives malfunction?

Any corrections, suggestions and additional questions are welcome.

By the way, since this is the test environment, HP box is the only host (about 3.8 TB) and we are planning to run about 4~5 VMs.

Thank you

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Welcome to the Community,

most DL380 G5 models come with a built in SmartArray P400 RAID controller which is a supported hardware RAID controller. The RAID functionality is totally transparent to ESXi in this case (e.g. rebuilding after a fialure). So nothing to worry about this controller

Regarding the disk/RAID size you mentioned, you may need to split the RAID into multiple logical volumes using the ACU (Array Configuration Utility) due to an issue with the currently used driver (see http://kb.vmware.com/kb/2006942). I'd recommend you create a 10GB logical volume for ESXi and split the remaining disk space into two large logical volumes for use as VMFS datastores.

Btw. does the controller have BBWC (battery backed write cache)? This is very important and makes a HUGE difference in disk performance.

André