VMware Cloud Community
RomoVal
Contributor
Contributor

RHEL 5 P2V

Dear all:

I am new to data center products.

I need to clone several servers as VM and some of them are Linux RHEL 5, but I am not sure if my only option is to have as destination ESXi. Cannot I use VMware Workstation?

It seems the only way to clone from Linux is as having ESXi as destination.

I would have running on LInux the following services that I would like not to shutdown:

• Oracle database instances
  • Java application servers
  • Tomcat web servers

Is there any known limitation, even with ESXi, for that?

I reckon that to run the VM properly in the ESXi host, I would need to have the same HW profile plus a ballpark value of 20% for the main parameters and the clone will have ABSOLUTELY everything.

Regards,

Roman.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
zXi_Gamer
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

While I have done downtime less conversion for windows guests using VMware convertor, I have not done for Linux guests. Check these threads Physical to Virtual Conversion with No Downtime

VMware Converter: How to Move Physical Machines to VMs with VMware Converter - Part 2

Cannot I use VMware Workstation?

It is good to use for any virtual environments. But if you wish to take out the host os dependency and utilize the full hardware to the virtual machines, then ESXi would be good to go.

0 Kudos
pierreLx
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

VMware workstation is not the best solution to virtualize server so you should go for a P2V on ESXi hosts. Before the migration, all your services will have to be stopped otherwise you may loose datas on the destination VM. Once you have your VM in your virtual infrastucture, you will have to stop your physical server et start the VM.

In any case, there will be network and services disruption.

Regards

Pierre

0 Kudos
RomoVal
Contributor
Contributor