VMware Cloud Community
jtlee
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Proper way to create templates and to deploy - "No Internet Access issues"

I am new to ESX and I am having tons of networking issues with VM's I am deploying from a template.  Can someone tell me if I am doing something wrong?

We are using

vSphere Client 4.1.0

vCenter Server 4.1.0 build 345043

This is a brand new install of W2k8 32-bit and w2k8 R2 SP1.  The machines work fine when I create them from a CD.  When I turn them into a Template and "Deploy Virtual Machine from this template" is when things go wrong, all the machines I deploy have networking issues.

This is what I am doing

• Install VMWare tools v 8.3.7 build 341836
  • Apply all the MS updates to the base VM's
  • I check them in as s template
  • Deploy Virtual Machine from this template
  • Give it a name
  • Choose the guest customiztion --> customize using the customization wizard
  • Use the vm as the computer name
  • Give it the windows license product key
  • give it a password
  • set the time zone
  • nothing in the run once
  • Network - typical settings
  • workgroup - workgroup
  • Operating System Options --> this is where I check "Generate New Security ID (SID)
  • Save specification - I can't check anything here but I wish I could
  • Finish

When it deploys, the deployed machine gets and IP address but it typically says "local only" and it cannot access the internet or other machines in the environment.
I can click on the x beside internet and start up the Windows Network Diagnostics and when it completes it says:
"Your computer appears to be correctly configured, but the device or resouce (primary DNS server) is not responding
I have disabled the firewall, enabled the firewall, deleted the virtual nic, changed nic types (currently using vmxnet3), tried every trick in the book that I can find on google and nothing is helping.