VMware Cloud Community
FlorianGachet
Contributor
Contributor

Problem with adding disks with vSphere client on existing RAID

Hi all,

I am new with vm ware and doesn't have good skills in IT virtualisation, and now for many reasons I have to take the IT managment (we are a small firm) so I need help and that would be kind of you :

The configuration is ESXi on a HP Proliant ML350, one virtual machine on it with Windows Server 2008 R2. Host is managed with vSphere client, and I would like to extend a datastore. Storage adapter is Smart Array P410i with actually 2 datastores on 4 SAS, I suppose based on RAID 1 configuration (2 physical disks 146 Go, and 2 others with 300 Go).

Thirst question, excuse me if it is basic but, how can I be sure it is RAID 1 ? I didn't find it with vSphere, and even at host boot, in the BIOS... ?

Secondly, I tried to add the two new disks as describe on documentation, but vSphere doesn't see new added disks, or just as unconfigured disks. Here is what I have in health status :

vSphere Healt Status.JPG

I don't know how to configure those new two disks. I tried to add a new LUN but disks are not seen, there is surely a thing I don't get about RAID configuration. Do I have to break the existing RAID configuration for adding new disks ??? I thought it was simplier but I am surrely wrong...

I also expect that the port 2I should be configured, but...

Thanks in advance for your help !

Florian

0 Kudos
5 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Communities

Moved to the vSphere ESXi forums.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

Did you create a new array with the two new disks with the BIOS array configuration tool?

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
J1mbo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso