dhaddad1
Contributor
Contributor

Poor performance with Dell PERC H700

I'm having performance issues host specifications are:

CPU Capacity: 18.08

Memory: 15.99

Storage: 399 GB

Plenty of available resources on this box. It is running 2 guest OS's both windows server 2008 r2. Im seeing significantly degraded performance vs the same specs running the guest directly.

Upon reviewing the log i noticed this, seemed strange:

CropperCapture[28].jpg

RAID 6 Array, on a H700. Thoughts? How can i further troubleshoot? I'm a bit new to vsphere web client FYI

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Wh33ly
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

The image might look a bit strange but that is explainable, you probably took the view from "Past Month or something similar. You see an increase in counters in the last 7 days and even more from the last 24 hours.This is because the statistics are archived and averaged, so you see more "entry points" from the last 24 hours, less entry points in the past week, and even more in a monthly view.

By default vCenter uses four collection intervals.

IntervalFrequency
1 Day  5 Minutes
1 Week30 Minutes
1 Month2 Hours
1 Year 1 Day

So in 1 day you have each 5 minutes a sample with data, that will make 288 data entry points with performance data.

After the day passed these samples will be averaged out to 30 minutes sample, so you only have 48 data entry's left from the "past day" etc.

The further you look back, the less likely you can actually spot "short" spikes which caused a problem.

But to help you with your problem, we could use a bit more background information.

What kind of degraded performance do you notice ?

When does it happen ?

How are your VM's configured ?  (CPU/MEM, VMware tools installed?)

At first view I don't see why 2 VM's can't run properly, might be something as simple as VMware tools not installed which can cause your session become sluggish and seem to be a performance problem.

0 Kudos
dhaddad1
Contributor
Contributor