VMware Cloud Community
Dollygrice
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Please Help! ESXi Configuration to get Cisco Surv. Media Software to work.

Quick overview of what I am doing:

I am running VMWare ESXi  on a Dell Poweredge R710 Server.  My virtual machine is Linux SuSE 10, Service Pack 1, the recommended platform of the Cisco Video Surveuillance media Software.  .  I am trying to get My Cisco software to run on the machine, but It requires an IP address from a remote location to access the software.  My IP address that I have assigned to VMware is all assigned, but when I use the same address and have the x.x.x.x/cisco.vsm.html there is a conflict with the original address assigned to the address that the VMware is using to access the server itself.  I am a newbie and this is all very confusing to me, so I apprecaite some help.

Is this an IP routing issue or a port assignment issue?  The Cisco software is supposed to load when I type http:/x.x.x.x/vsms.html into a browser window on the same network.

Any suggestions?  I have been researching this for days on trying to figure out how to get a simple program to work. 

Thanks so much for your help!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Try the localhost URL directly on the SuSE machine http://127.0.0.1/vsmc.html  If that gets refused then you have configuration issues within the software.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
23 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Networking rules don't change in a virtual environment. Your Virtual machines need their own unique IP addresses (DHCP or static). The ESX(i) host machine needs it's own unique address(es).

0 Kudos
Dollygrice
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution