VMware Cloud Community
seanmcg182
Contributor
Contributor

PF Exception 14 in world

I hope I'm posting this in the right place...

Been running a server for a few months, so I'm very new to this whole ESXi thing, and just got my first PSOD... rebooted, and got another less than an hour later...

I was running ESXi 6.5U3, modified with drivers for realtek, and i think a 6.2 NVMe driver, as my original NVMe wasnt being recognized with the 6.5 drivers... maybe 3 weeks ago, i swapped that NVME with a newer one (I'll come back to that later)...

ESXI itself is installed on a USB Drive, the NVME is just a datastore for the VMs

After a few PSODs, I decided to try reinstalling ESXi V7U2, hoping that it would solve my issues... it did not

All these pictures are from when 6.5U3 were still installed.

I'm guessing its a hardware problem, but I do not know where to begin diagnosing which piece of hardware... everything in the case is less than 4 months old, and it was running fine for 3 months... 

The only things newer than everything else is 2 sticks of the RAM, 4HDDs for a VM-Hosted NAS (passthrough), an intel NIC, and the NVME Datastore...

I can't imagine the 4 HDD's would cause an ESXI crash, when they are just passed through to a VM for NAS, ESXI does not read from them at all, and the SAS Card they are connected to has been there since the beginning.

The NVME is a datastore for my 8VMs. Samsung EVO 970. been in there for 3 weeks. 

I originally started out with 2x16GB of ram, and upgraded to 4x16GB 3 weeks ago. I'm currently running a Memtest, but I feel like if there was a problem, It would have popped up a lot sooner than 3 weeks.

The intel NIC I only installed when I moved to 7U2, which was already after the PSOD's started

Any ideas for diagnosis/what to replace first?

image2.jpg

image0.jpg

0 Kudos
4 Replies
vbondzio
VMware Employee
VMware Employee