VMware Cloud Community
falafelkart
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

No persistent storage after upgrade - ESXi 5.5

I'm new to ESXi and I'm having trouble applying patches.  Some background info on the server:

Single ESXi 5.5.0 host on build 2068190

Server is a Lenovo ThinkServer TS140.  In the BIOS, SATA configuration is set to AHCI.

I have an LSI RAID card (Model 9341-4i) installed as well.  I suspect that this very relevant to the issue.

When installing ESXi, I created a custom ISO that came with the drivers for the storage adapter (I don't recall exactly, but I believe the install of the OS failed until I did this).

I use the command esxcli software vib install -d /vmfs/volumes/[DATASTORE]/[PATCH_FILE].zip to apply a patch, and the CLI informs me that this is successful.  I see the build ID reported as 2143827, which is the next patch, so everything appears successful.  However, when I reboot, a message appears saying "the esxi host does not have persistent storage after reboot" and none of my datastores are found.  I reboot once more, and the build ID rolls back to 2068190, and my datastore and VMs are all working properly again.

I found similar symptoms reported here: http://www.vm-help.com/esx/esx3i/no_persistent_storage_after_upgrade.php

They suggested enabling "LVM.EnableResignature"

However, I have found that there is no LVM option in vSphere under Advanced Settings, and cant seem to find LVM anywhere in the UI.

I also tried to re-add the storage as outlined here: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=101138...

However, when I went to "Add Storage" there were no storage devices listed.

Anyone have an idea as to why the ESXi host wont take patches, and how to fix it?  I'm happy to provide more details if anyone needs.

Thanks for any help.

Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution