VMware Cloud Community
kevcor
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

No network connection for VM after manually migrating to new host

We've added six new hosts to our environment, and I've been tasked with testing the VLAN connections on each of them before we migrate production VM's to them.  This is probably a simple problem but I'm new to VMWare and need some help.  I've already talked to our network guy, and he assures me the physical switches are setup and working correctly.  We're working a vDS.

I'm testing 14 VLANs on six new hosts.  All but one work consistently.  (All of them work on the original hosts that were in place before.)  I have a static IP setup on my test VM and MAC is set to automatic.  I've verified the MAC does not change when migrating to other hosts and the correct VLAN is listed in the network settings for the VM (it's not blank).  The VLAN will work on three of the six hosts but not all at once.  The weird thing is the working hosts constantly change.  For example, this morning hosts11, 12, and 14 might work but this afternoon that could change to hosts12, 14, and 16.  I don't understand why they would change on their own.

My test consists of powering down the test VM, manually migrating it, powering it back on, then pinging it from my computer.  Obviously everything is working when I get ping replies.  When I don't get replies, the test VM has a yellow exclamation point over the network icon in the system tray.

What do I need to do to resolve this?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
BenLiebowitz
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

How is the network configured?  Do you have a different NIC port/cable for each vlan or are they using Trunking on the switch side? 

If you're using trunking on the switch side, then your virtual switch portgroup needs a VLAN ID to match the vlan thats being trunked.  It doesn't matter if it's a standard switch or distributed switch... you still need that vlan ID.