VMware Cloud Community
dalleuh
Contributor
Contributor

No network adapters were detected ESXI 7 D-link and Realtek

Hi there, first of all I'm a total noob in this stuff so take a deep breath before you dive in with me^^

So I'm after downloading the VMware vSphere Hypervisor (ESXi) 7.0U2a iso and setting it up on a usb stick with rufus, after trying to install it on a Dell Vostro 3888 I get the error "No network adapters were detected".

Now I have 2 NICs (I hope I'm not calling them that wrongfully)

1- the one which came with the pc: Realtek Semiconductor RTL811/8168/8411 PCI Express gigabit ethernet controller, which I found this download

2- the one we added: D-link system DGE-528T gigabit ethernet adapter, which I found this download from this blog which asnwsers my problem but on esxi5/5.5/6

Now the big question is; can any of those 2 NICs somehow be installed on esxi7 using esxi-customiser (even though ESXi-Customizer only supports ESXi versions 4.1, 5.0, 5.1, 5.5. and when running it on windows 10 I get an error, but I fixed that with this)

OR 

should I change the esxi version that is compatible with both of my NICs 

either way, buying a new one that is on the compatibility list  is a last resort because I'm on an internship and I'm trying to work with what I got.

Here is my reddit post concerning this issue, if you want to read more about how I got this far ! 
Thanks in advance 😃

0 Kudos
7 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Drivers for older ESXi versions are not compatible wit ESXi 7.0, and I'm not aware of anyone who provides drivers for the network adapters that you are using. So I'd suggest that you try ESXi 6.x, to see which versions works on your system.

André

0 Kudos
dalleuh
Contributor
Contributor

Hello sir thanks for the reply,

"I'm not aware of anyone who provides drivers for the network adapters that you are using."

so I have heard lately, kind of unlucky 😞