VMware Cloud Community
pjw73nh
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

No network adapter found. Need to convert one machine to VM (noob).

Greetings,

I am very new to ESXi.  I am familiar with the concepts, as I have used Sun Virtualbox in the past.  

At this time I have one objective to accomplish, and it is utilizing a network and devices that are completely isolated from any production machines/networks.

Here is my situation:

I have an HP Proliant server that I purchased recently that will ULTIMATELY be used as an ESXi host (for a proof of concept that VM works to the powers that be). It is used. It has a registered, valid, supported and complete installation of Windows Server 2008 on it that I would like to preserve.

I want to "save" this 2008 server as a VM using the VM Converter, and then install ESXi 5 on that server, and then copy the original 2008 VM back to the (now) host and have it run there as a guest VM.

My difficulty is that I only have one 64 bit machine at my disposal to use as a host.  A dell Inspiron 1720R laptop. It has 6 gb ram and a blank 250 gb HD.  I have several win XP 32 bit machines I can use as to run the client. My plan was to use this laptop as my "temporary" host to convert and store the VM files of the 2008 server.  Then install  ESXi on the HP proliant and copy/convert the VM back to run as a guest on the original hardware host.

Here is where I am at:

I boot up off the the ESXi install Cd and it eventually brings me to a point where it says "No network adapters were detected" and gives me a choice of F9 or F11.  Exit or Retry.  I am certain it is a driver issue but I am unsure as to how (if at all possible) I can remedy the issue.   I know the hardware is good because if I put a hard drive with a WIN 7 OS on it into the laptop it boots and runs just fine.   The built in network adapter is an Atheros PCIE v2.0.2.