VMware Cloud Community
Lophole1
Contributor
Contributor

No internet connection "Ethernet 0 doesn't have a valid ip configuration"

Hey, I've been trying to solve this problem for so long but the solutions I found didn't work.

I have a dedicated server, I also have VMWare ESXi 7.0 installed on it, I added a virtual machine, installed Windows 10 on it, also installed the VM tools and I don't have any internet connection. (DHCP is enabled)

What I'm seeing:
https://imgur.com/a/DHocHbj - 5 pictures in there (blanked some stuff that I thought needed to be)

I am a real noob with this
Please help, thank you.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@Lophole1 

Where is your DHCP server in relation to vmnic0 on vSwitch0?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
Lophole1
Contributor
Contributor

I have no idea what that means, please clarify

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

>>> I have no idea what that means, please clarify

You mentioned that DHCP is enabled on the Windows 10 client, but your screenshot do not show a DHCP server. So where would the client get a DHCP lease from?

André

0 Kudos
Lophole1
Contributor
Contributor

I'm sorry I just checked again and I was wrong, I attached another picture

What do you recommend? Thanks for the help.

I also tried using manual IP settings for the internet connection but still won't work

0 Kudos
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

You are mixing uo the host (ESXi) and the client (Windows 10).
Both of them (i.e. the host, and each VM) need their own valid IP address.

André

0 Kudos
Lophole1
Contributor
Contributor