VMware Cloud Community
logicsound
Contributor
Contributor

Newbie needs help with backup and recovery

So I just put in my first vsphere esxi 4.1 server with a vm of server 2008 standard and everything is running good only problem was the second processor was on backorder so in order to meet the deadline I had to build the server with one processor, I did some research and from what I found adding the 2nd processor later would not be a problem...WRONG!  I went on site last night and took the machine down and added the 2nd processor and ESXI got stuck booting at  "multiextent loaded succesfully"  Did some searching and didnt really find anything that helped, so I took the 2nd processor out and it booted back up fine.  This is a production server that they are now using everyday but I can work on it after hours.

I am very new to linux based OS so if you have a fix please explain it as if I had never used a linux machine, I read somewhere that maybe I could take a snapshot or backup of the vm and copy it to a usb drive then just reload esxi with the 2nd processor in place and then reload the vm?  If this is possible please explain to me the exact steps, as this is a production machine.and I can not lose this vm.

Please no comments about how I should have had some experience with vm before I jumped into a production server, I had no choice.

Thanks for any help!!

T

0 Kudos
13 Replies
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal

VMs can be copy in several ways...

See: http://communities.vmware.com/docs/DOC-10780

Andrew | http://about.me/amauro | http://vinfrastructure.it/ | @Andrea_Mauro
0 Kudos
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal

Honestly, if your boot process got stuck from install of a second CPU, its not because you need a reinstall.  There is something wrong with your second CPU and/or your motherboard.

Is this a supported host?

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal