VMware Cloud Community
timjwatts
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Network architecture - n00b question

Hi,

I'm an experience sysadmin (inc networking) but fairly green with ESX - and I'm planning a new installation.

Got 3 hosts with 12 NICs each, pair of stacked gig switches and a PS6500E SAN.

Clearly, as per PS6500E docs, I will have one iSCSI VLAN, 4x1Gbit bonded links to all hosts and both SPs in the SAN.

I'll also have feeds from each host to the public network (1 or 2x1 bonded)

Now - the real question is - would be "normal" architecture to have a 4x1Gbit bonded link on another private, unrouted VLAN[1] between the 3 hosts for VMotion (and poss misc) purposes?

[1] On the same switch stack as the iSCSI in my case, because there's plenty of spare capacity there.

Superficially, it seems an obvious thing to do, but I will admit I'm 25% the way through reading all the docs and I haven't yet noticed the issue mentioned.

Thansk for any pointers 🙂

Tim

0 Kudos
11 Replies
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal

For iSCSI I usually use dedicated switches and NICs.

You can partition your switches in different VLANs to have different type of traffics.

But try to have at least dedicated NICs for iSCSI.

Andre

Andrew | http://about.me/amauro | http://vinfrastructure.it/ | @Andrea_Mauro
0 Kudos
timjwatts
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi Andre,

Yes - the hosts have 12 NICs in and 4 per host will be dedicated to iSCSI.

My actual question (sorry - difficult to know how much background to put in without muddying the water) is:

Is it worth having a dedicated VLAN (and NICs) for interhost VMotion traffic between the 3 hosts?

Or to put it another way - is that a usual setup Smiley Happy ?

Ta,

Tim

0 Kudos
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal

A dedicated VLAN is common...

A dedicated NIC maybe. For example I use a vSwitch with 2 or 3 NICs where I put the Management, vMotion (and if is needed the FT) interface and then use different active NIC for each interface.