VMware Cloud Community
biolog5
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Network Configuration

Good afternoon All,

I am quite new to vmware, so please bear with me :~}.

I  am in the process of setting up a small vmware cluster for my  institution. The cluster will consist of 2 Proliant DL380G7s connected  to P2000 G3 iSCSI SAN and one DL180G6 used mainly for DR and backups (on  another site). All hosts will run ESXi 4.1 and will be managed by 1 vCenter Server.

Each of DL380s has 8nics. I am planning to use 4 for iSCSI, 2 for vm traffic and 2 for management/vmotion/special vm traffic (active-standby configuration on 2 port groups)

My main concern is with the management network. Ideally I would like the hosts to live on the management vlan using private addresses to talk to vCenter server and syslog servers. To test this, I set up 1 host with vswitch0 with vmk0 with right ip (say 10.10.0.50), netmask (say 255.255.255.0) and no gateway. I can connect to host via vSphere client and ssh and all is fine.

However, since there is no gateway, I cannot use ntp or dns (both of which are on production network, with real IP adresses). I think I will be able to get hosts to syncronise time with vCenter server, and possibly with some other vms' that will be on the management network. But, I wonder if absence of gateway and dns will cause me problems elsewhere (assuming that all vms' will have manually configured ips')? If it does, what would be the most appropriate way to set up a management network, without inter-vlan routing and without exposing hosts to the production network?

Many Thanks for your help!

S.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kjb007
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

That sounds like a very workable solution to your specific needs, and limits your exposure on both networks, I like it.  Lockdown mode is something I haven't played with much as my environment requires me to access the hosts directly often, but it should work for what you want it to do.