VMware Cloud Community
iliketurtles
Contributor
Contributor

Nested ESXi Hosts - DHCP Address not getting one - 169.254.XX

I am trying to set up a Nested ESXi Host environment in my home lab to learn and practice Vmware concepts. I installed ESXi 5.5 on my Physical Box and then want to created the Nested ESXi VMs. The problem I am having is I am getting a 169.254.XX IP address on the physical ESXi Host so don't know how I can connect to it using the Vsphere client to created the ESXi VMs.

Using this link as a reference. VMware Front Experience: How to provision nested ESXi hosts on free ESXi

I am new to Vmware so I assume I am missing something obvious, the problem I believe lie's in the fact I am not getting a DHCP IP Address for some reason. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Kedar_D
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,

If you do not have a DHCP server in your lab then you are will get an APIPA address, that you mentioned.

You can simply use DCUI to change the IP address of your host from network settings. Else if you are not familiar with DCUI, you can assign temporary IP address which is next one to your host range. For example 169.254.1.5 then use 169.254.1.6 (this is just an example you will have to use same subnet mask as your host) with this you can connect to your ESXi server and change the IP range that you need.

------------------------------------------------------------ If you find this or any other answer useful please mark the answer as correct or helpful. Kedar http://virtualtechknow.wordpress.com/ ------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
iliketurtles
Contributor
Contributor

Apologies for the delay in getting back.