VMware Cloud Community
thecoffeeshop
Contributor
Contributor

Need some help on Networking - Distributed switches, networks

hey everyone.

So I am learning more and more about networking within esxi/vcenter.

Here is what I have.

(2) ESXi hosts

(7) NIC's physically connected to a 24 port layer 2 managed switch.

Here is what I am attempting to do:

Create three networks:

Dev - 172.16.3.1/24

Test - 172.16.4.1/24

Prod - 172.16.15.1/24

I'd like these setup across the two esxi hosts via a VDS. Each network would be 'isolated' to a degree. I just do not want one big flat network on my home network.

I have been reading the documentation about setting up VDS and VDG's. Seems straightforward for the most part. I have done some testing, but i am stuck on a few things (again, i am pretty new to this).

How many distributed switches should I create? Best practices? At some point, i'd like to expand this to vmotion, storage, maybe more.

what about distributed port groups? My initial thought was to create one distributed port group for each network (Dev, Test, prod.)

How/where do i define the subnets for the networks?

I am thinking that since my switch is layer 2 and not 3, I need to have something act as a router for me, to route traffic between the networks?

I hope that makes sense.
I know what I want to do, just trying to figure out how to do it.

Thanks,

TCG

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MikeStoica
Expert
Expert

Hi,

You can create one vDS and you will need on vDG for Management traffic one for vMotion, I suppose you will want to migrate VMs between the two ESXi.

When you create a vDG for virtual machine traffic you cannot set IP, you can only assign VLAN ID.

Yes you will need a router, you can install and configure a Linux VM to act as a router.

0 Kudos
thecoffeeshop
Contributor
Contributor

Ok. This is helpful.

Yea, and I was thinking of using something like PFSense to route traffic between my VM networks.

Would something like this work:

(1) VDS for management