VMware Cloud Community
Pramo201110141
Contributor
Contributor

Need help on the memory limit setting for VM

Hi All,

I am new to the vmware technology,  Please help me out to understand the Limit  attribute on vm memory setting.

I just refers through some site and made a conclusion that , the limit is the maximum memory a VM can use even though its configured memory is higher than limit. once VM reached the limit , then the balloon driver kicks in and start the paging on VM ,thus esx limit the memory utilization up to limit.

For example , i created a VM with configured memory of 1024MB, and set a reservation to 256MB and limit to 756MB. now when VM is powered on ,

Because of reservation esx always assign 256MB of machine memory to VM, and the gap between reservation max 256MB to Limit max 756MB may be filled with available physical memory or using swap aread of esx. But once vm reached the memory utlization of 756MB, then the ballooon driver comes in to play ,ie the esx will inflate the balloon and clamp theVMs memory utlization on 756MB.

So in short VM cannot user a single page of memory after 756MB.

Here is my Doubt,

I simulated the same scenario , by creating a Linux VM of configured memory 256MB, Reservation 71MB ,and Limit to 118MB. shares are set to low.

But ,when i am analyzing the performance matrix for VM , i can see the consumed memory(machine memory allocated to VM ) go above the limit that up to 165MB, even though i limited at memory at 118MB.

Please help me out for this !!.   i am attaching the outputs for your reference.

Is there any relation with balloon values with the above dubt

Also correct me ,if i am wrong in terms of the concept understandings 

Million thanks in advance. 

12 Replies
firestartah
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi

Have a look at this blog posting by Frank Denneman

http://frankdenneman.nl/2010/06/reservations-and-cpu-scheduling/

Also this posting on resource pools seeing as you're looking at limits and reservations