VMware Cloud Community
actyler1001
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

NTP broken after ESXi 7u3 upgrade

NTP time sync appears to have broken after the 7U3 upgrade.  Anyone else run into this and have suggestions on how I might fix?  I've deleted and re-created the service, checked FW policy, tried different servers...  Nothing helps.

Original Build: VMware ESXi, 7.0.2, 17867351

actyler1001_1-1635089620144.png

New Build: VMware ESXi, 7.0.3, 18644231

actyler1001_0-1635089532365.png

Labels (2)
135 Replies
sramanuja
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

I'm a product manager in the vSphere team and monitoring this thread for a while. Unfortunately, we are unable to reproduce some of the issues you have reported internally. Would you be willing to share some of these issues and support bundles from your environment so that we can investigate this further?

0 Kudos
CoffeeBlackest
Contributor
Contributor

This is an excerpt from one of my emails with support:

Although, this has been one of the known ones with 7.0 U3, you can definitely apply the workaround steps as shown in the article: https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/86255?lang=en_US

Though i'm not certain my issue is the same as what has been described in some of the above posts.

VMware ESXi, 7.0.3, 19193900

0 Kudos
Kinnison
Commander
Commander

@sramanuja,

Good afternoon, I can only talk about my personal experience and environment,

Introduced with ESXi 7.0U3  and before ESXi 7.0U3c if for any reason any reliable time was not reachable, the management agent on the hosts crashed in less then a minute; I mitigated that issue by adding a local, reliable, time source, and referencing it by it's IP address and not by FQDN . it was not a big effort as my lab is a small one with only six ESXi host.