VMware Cloud Community
M4T
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

NFS Storage , ESXi 6.7

hi community,

Am I able to do this.

I have a spear server and wanted to have 8 SSD drives in a RAID 5 , and have a quad network card installed. can I attach the dell blade servers in a FX2s chassis directly to the other server for storage for eg like a iSCSI. would that work over the ethernet so I can directly connect them together without a switch or a router, and use the RAID 5 storage on the other server to install VMs onto.

Matt

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RyanHardy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hello Matt,

didn't you just repeat your original question?

I have no experience with blades, however as long as your hypervisor on this blade server is able to reach your file server (the Linux server I suggested), you are fine with this setup. Just don't expect too much from multiple 1 Gbit links as they are likely to be your bottleneck on SSD storage arrays.

If you are not experienced with Linux you could even use FreeNAS etc. for your file server. NFS is a must though, and I'd recommend to use at least NFS 4 because of this: VMware Knowledge Base

Btw it wouldn't have to be VMware + VM - you could even go old school and install the file server directly onto the server. Has its pros and cons.

You'd be emulating what the whole bunch of NAS systems do today, eg I am using mid-range QNAPs for my test lab storage.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
RyanHardy
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution