VMware Cloud Community
tcsuhit
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

NEW 3VM SETUP Suggestions??

Greetings,

I am rebuilding our small business server setup. I have one: HP ProLiant ML350 G6 with 1.9TB (4TB RAID 10), 16GB, 2 x Xeon 5620 Quad Cores.

I have another:  HP ProLiant ML350 G6  12GB, 4TB (RAID 5), 2 x Xeon 5620 Quad Cores for secondary AD, DNS, Backup. That one will be a physical server, No VMs. All 3 VMs will be server on Windows 2008 R2 64bit. I am new to virtualization and plan to use ESXi 4.1. Here is what i plan to setup:

1. AD, DNS, DHCP
  2. File/Print, Secondary AD (currently have 600GB in storage for shares)
  3. Web(MYSQL, Apache, nothing heavy)

How much each server should get for RAM, Hard disk, thin-provision, etc....???

I appreciate any help given. Many thanks in advance.

Thanks

Brion(Noob)

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Walfordr
Expert
Expert
Jump to solution

tcsuhit wrote:

Greetings,

I am rebuilding our small business server setup. I have one: HP ProLiant ML350 G6 with 1.9TB (4TB RAID 10), 16GB, 2 x Xeon 5620 Quad Cores.

I have another:  HP ProLiant ML350 G6  12GB, 4TB (RAID 5), 2 x Xeon 5620 Quad Cores for secondary AD, DNS, Backup. That one will be a physical server, No VMs. All 3 VMs will be server on Windows 2008 R2 64bit. I am new to virtualization and plan to use ESXi 4.1. Here is what i plan to setup:

1. AD, DNS, DHCP

Thanks

Brion(Noob)

Its going to be based on your environment - users connecting, etc.  No one can give you hard figures to live by.

1. AD, DNS, DHCP - Server 2008 R2 - 2GB RAM, 1vCPU, At least 40GB for storage should be sufficient.

2. File/Print, Secondary AD- I suggest that you make the File/Print and the secondary DC separate servers. See suggestions above for DC VM specs. You could start off with 4GB and 1 or maybe 2 CPU for the file/print server - all depending on the load...