VMware Cloud Community
TheCableGuy96
Contributor
Contributor

Multiple NICs on Multiple vLANs

Hi,

I'm new to ESXi and have managed to get hold of an old Dell R720xd and put ESXi 8 on it.

It has 4 NICs and I'm really struggling to see how I can assign each one a different IP on different vLANs so I can assign different nodes t different vLANs.

Would anyone be able to offer me any help please?

Thank you in advance!
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
27 Replies
depping
Leadership
Leadership

You don't need to assign IP addresses to the NICs itself. You assign an IP to the different types of interfaces you need, like for instance: management, vMotion, iSCSI etc.

You can create what VMware calls "portgroups" and set a VLAN ID on that level, if you then add VMs to that portgroup the traffic will be tagged with that VLAN. This is what is called "virtual switch tagging". Some documentation can be found here:

https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1004074

https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1003806 

TheCableGuy96
Contributor
Contributor

Hi depping,

Thank you for your reply. 

So from those articles I believe I need to setup "Virtual Switch Tagging". I have managed switches and know how to set tagged ports so I can manage that.

I have created the port groups now, but I don't see how to assign each one an IP address? When I try to edit the settings for it there are no IP options, please could you clarify where to do this?

Also with the port groups I am wanting to setup "Route based on IP hash" NIC teaming (from what I have read this is the best one for load balancing). I am worried though that when I turn this on I may lose access to the server if not setup correctly. I have managed switches but when I switch this on do I simply turn on LACP on the switch for each port or is that something different? If it said "LACP" in the options I would be more confident but it doesn't so I'm not 100% it's the same thing?

Thank you again for your help.

0 Kudos
depping
Leadership
Leadership