VMware Cloud Community
JonWeatherhead
Contributor
Contributor

Minimum Permissions to delete a VM

I am building a stand alone ESXi host that will hold many Linux VMs to be used by associates that are going through Linux training.  As an administrator, I would like to stay out of the picture as much as possible, while keeping people from abusing resources on my host.  I have a pretty cool mechanism set up that will allow trainees to SSH to my host with a non-root account that immediately runs a login shell script.  The script provisions them a custom VM and then assigns their domain account basic "virtual machine user" permissions to the new VM.

I've taken care of keeping things locked down, or eliminating their ability to break out of the script sufficiently enough.  I have one piece of the puzzle that is stumping me though.

QUESTION:
What permissions do I need to add to their role if I want them to be able to delete their VM when done with the training?

My standard "virtual machine user" role looks like this:

"Global.CancelTask",
         "ScheduledTask.Create",
         "ScheduledTask.Delete",
         "ScheduledTask.Edit",
         "ScheduledTask.Run",
         "System.Anonymous",
         "System.Read",
         "System.View",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.AnswerQuestion",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.ConsoleInteract",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.DeviceConnection",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.GuestControl",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.PowerOff",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.PowerOn",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.Reset",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.SetCDMedia",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.SetFloppyMedia",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.Suspend",
         "VirtualMachine.Interact.ToolsInstall"

I created a newer role that I'm calling "VM User with Delete".  It is a clone of what you see above but I also have given it the following permissions:

"Datastore.DeleteFile", (I'm not sure this one is needed)