VMware Cloud Community
tomtom1
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Memory required Physical server Vs Virtual Machine

Is there a white paper explaining why we we need less memory in Virtual Machine as compared to Physical Machine.

The problem here is my boss wants to know why it is so. It is very difficult for me to explain him this reason, he wants to see a white paper OR some article on the internet.

As a VM admin, I know we can add and remove the memory to a VM but it won't be that easy when we talk about Physical servers. I suggested him that we should follow a standard and if there is a business requirement we can increase/decrease is as needed. Now when the vendor comes in they give us specs for Physical server and not the virtual and there is always a argument that why should VM be having 6-8 GB of memory upfront. So to avoid all that arguments he needs some other proof.

Thanks

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Rumple
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Here is a simple explaination of why VM's need less memory. Transparent Page sharing.

If you install a single VM of Windows 2008 SP2 Server, lets assume it uses 500MB of RAM while sitting idle. thats basically all the running components loaded into memory.

If you then power up an Identical VM, the new VM will not re-load the exact same components into memory. ESX will see that the exact same memory block has been loaded into the Host memory (phyiscal hardware) from Server1 and then just point the VM at the already existing component loaded into memory.

Once the VM has loaded and TPS has kicked in, you will probably find that for 2 identical VM's you are not only using 650MB of memory (not 1000MB as expected). thats because for 80% of the components the new VM needs, it just uses the existing memory blocks, instead of duplicating them.