VMware Cloud Community
manofbronze
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Make iSCSI SAN Accessible to VM via Windows iSCSI Initiator

I have a "total newbie" question that I hope can be answered rather quickly.

I have added a new DELL MD3000i SAN to my storage network with the goal of using this SAN exclusively for Windows VMs. I have (2) large vdisks of 4 and 7TB each (yes, I REALLY do need single volumes that large) defined on the MD3000i. The (4) ports of the MD3000i are connected into my iSCSI VLAN and have the default host port id's of 192.168.130.101/102 and 192.168.131.101/102.

I already have a MD3220i installed in the network and working with (2) ESXi 4.1 hosts (192.168.230.101/102, 192.168.231.101/102 subnets). I am quite familiar with how to make the storage accessible to the host via the iSCCI initiator, but I am not certain how to make storage accessible to the VMs WITHOUT using the hosts to connect to the iSCSI SAN, create a data store, then add a new virtual disk for the vm.

Only the vmnics dedicated to the iSCSI initiator have physical links to the iSCSI VLAN (vSwitch01). The network switch has (2) nics connected to the "inside" network via vSwitch0.

Any ideas on how best to "get there from here"? :smileyconfused:

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Hello.

You will need to create a virtual machine port group on the same vSwitch that your iSCSI port group is created in.  Give the VM a 2nd NIC and then assign it to the virtual machine port group created earlier.

Good Luck!

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution