VMware Cloud Community
James2000k
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Looking for idea how to set up first ESXi server so that i can virtualize an outdated server

Hello All

I am new to the VMware although I have taken the VCP boot camp I am interested in knowing what's the best route to take in setting up first VMware network.

Currently there is nothing in house that is running VMware but I want the company to look at investing in it but I want to keep budget low. We have a slow server that needs to be replaced but is it faster to buy maybe a new server and install ESXi on that server then create a virtual server for the physical machine or can I purchase a SAN and install ESXi on that and then virtualize the machine.  Or are both of these ideas not the best route

:smileygrin:

9 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

You will need to purchase server to run ESXi - a SAN is beneficial in that shared storage allows you to enhance your environment with High Availability (HA) and will allow you to take advantage of technologies like vMotion and Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS) - if you want to start cheap I would stand up a copy the Free Hypervisor -Free VMware vSphere Hypervisor, Free Virtualization (ESXi) | United States

This will allow you to setup an ESXi server and virtualize you existing physical server using VMware's Standalone Converter another free piece of software - as you grow the environment you can simply replace the free license with a purchased one and not lose anything -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
srinivas143
Contributor
Contributor

Please go with Purchase Any Server Dell/HP any other brand Rack is good with low budget no need to buy a shared storage as of now, with around 8-32 GB Ram with Large Datastore 1/2/4 TB.

install Any latest version  ESXi Free hypervisor and connect your hypervisor with vsphere client than create VMS.