VMware Cloud Community
jslh
Contributor
Contributor

Linux Guest Without X (CLI) - Do we really need to install the VMwareTools for Linux?

Hi,

I'm new to ESXi4. This is my 5 days of using ESXi4.

I created a linux guest "Ubuntu Server 10.04.1 32-bit" to works as my email server platform.

For a start, everything is working smooth and sound and the email server is working rock!

Yesterday, I installed the "VMwareTools for Linux".

Today, almost everyone inthe office complaining about the frequent disconnection to the email server and yet I could not trace any error / warning issues on my email server logs as well as the system logs from ESXi4.

However, I noticed that after the installation of the tools, Warning message do occurred whenever the Ubuntu boot-up (pls see attached). But, after that, the boot is normal and everything running as usual and I guest the error is not serious, so I don't really bother.

But with today experience, I wish to uninstall the "VMwareTools" now.

So, wouldl ike to seek some advise from forumer is the "VMwareTools" really necessary in this environment - Without X, the GUI!

Thanks.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
mbx369
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

Yes you do need the VMTools most of the time. Things as such "guest shutdown", vNICs to run at 1Gbps amongst others.

There are cases for the different Linux flavours there are different VMTools or customization that needs to be done.

For example, we did once refer to this site for installing VMTools on OpenSuse:

http://www.susegeek.com/general/how-to-install-vmware-tools-for-opensuse-guest-os/

You might also want to go thru this site:

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=101429...

Please awards points if this was useful. Smiley Happy

~~~~~ To Live Is To Die ~~~~~

Please awards points if this was useful. :) ~~~~~ To Live Is To Die ~~~~~ VCP3/4/5
0 Kudos
gaspipe
Enthusiast
Enthusiast