VMware Cloud Community
cookieme
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Install on USB drive or RAID

I'm new to ESXi, so excuse me if this is trivial. I have read that many run ESXi from a USB stick rather than internal hard disks. Can someone please explain why and what the benefits are?

I am considering ESXi and unfortunately my HP server is not on the HCL. I only have one server and plan on having 3 VMs. Would I install ESXi on a USB stick and use my 2x72.8GB UltraSCSI320 hard drives setup as RAID 1 for storing my 3 VMs or have ESXi and the 3 VMs on the hard drives? What is preferred way of setting this up?

Thanks

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
microkid
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

well, assuming this is a kind of home server, 2 or 3 VM's would only take approx 50-60GB of disk storage. So your 2 x 72GB disks in raid-1 would be sufficient.

Reminder: make sure you use hardware raid and that your SCSI raid controller is on the HCL, because most onboard raid controllers rre not supported.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
38 Replies
microkid
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

When you install ESXi on an USB stick, upgrading is easy. Just replace the USB stick, no need to install anything on your harddisk. Also, when running multiple ESXi hosts with shared storage, you can run them without any harddisk at all.

Your suggestion to run ESXi from USB and use your harddisks for the VM's is a good one, many people use it like that. Me too Smiley Happy

cookieme
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Hi microkid. Thanks for the quick reply! A few follow up questions.

- I have read that ESXi installed on a USB stick by HP is available. Does it differ from a USB stick that I would purchase and load with ESXi HP CIM?

- When you say that you just replace the USB stick and upgrade. I assume that you have to power off the server first, perform the upgrade on the USB and then attach it and boot, right?