VMware Cloud Community
rassoul
Contributor
Contributor

Install VMWare on raid controller

Hi All ,

I am new at VMware but I ve heard that we have to have the boot partition on a single disk when we install VMware ESX ?

Isn't it like windows , we can create a hardware raid and then install windows on that and it will recognize it as a single disk ?

Do we have to have a seperate disk for /boot and can't we install on a raid volume directly ?

Thanks

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Rumple
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

it will install just fine on a RAID controller, but it must be one of the supported controllers.

Anything consumer level even up to the 3Ware may or may not work. Most of the intel RAID controllers show up as seperate drives as they are software RAID.

The 3ware 9560 I think series can be installed for booting on esx4, but can only be used for the vmfs volumes on esx4i (because you can't install boot time drivers)

What system are you looking at, enterprise brand or whitebox?

0 Kudos
lanalyzer
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi.

Provided that the hardware is supported, you could create a single volume (no more that 2TB in size) and install ESX on. The installer will recognize the volume as a local disk and will create the partitions that are needed.

You could create your own partitions, but the installer will partition de volume with the default (VMware-recommended) partition sizes.

If your volume is larger than 2 Tb, then create separate volumes as you cannot have a VMFS partition (needed to allocate the virtual machines) on a partition larger than 2 TB as per the following document:

http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vsphere4/r40/vsp_40_config_max.pdf

If you need step by step information on how to install ESX, please refer to the following document:

http://www.vmware.com/pdf/vsphere4/r40_u1/vsp_40_u1_esx_vc_installation_guide.pdf

Thanks,

JesusM

0 Kudos
rassoul
Contributor
Contributor

Hi ,

That was a quick response ! Smiley Happy