VMware Cloud Community
JoruusC
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Install ESX 4 on iSCSI SAN?

Hi,

i'm quite new to esx and SAN, so perhaps this question is quite simple to answer... i tried google for several hours, but couldnt find any suitable answers.

got 2 dell r610 (broadcom 5709 with toe and iscsi offload, NO local disks/controller) and one md3200i. this configuration was made by dell, i just told them, wie need a functional eviroment for 2 servers and storage. so they told me: go with diskless and install esx an flashdrive...

i tried that, but discoverd after serveral hours that it is not possible to do a flash-only install, because esx needs a vmfs-partition for the serverconsole datastore, which will be created during install. great Smiley Sad

so i thought: hey, i got 2tb worth of diskspace on the md3200, why not use some of that for the datastore... so i created 2 dedicated LUNs and defined one r610 each as a host. in the storage-manager the md3200 detected the boradcomes as initiators...

so i fired up the install... and what the frag, no SAN to choose from...

connection between nics and md3200 is working (when i select the nic as boot device, it connects to the md3200)...

what am i missing? what did i wrong? or is this not possible and we have to purchase local disks/controllers? (then i'll have a little talk with the dell technician who recommends that setup)...

thanx for your help

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

It is what Dell was recommending you do. ESXi loads totally to RAM and does very little writing to disk (once per hour it copies the configuration to an alternate boot partition). All logs are written to a ramdisk so it would be wise to create a location on the SAN and point the logs to that directory