VMware Cloud Community
deltatech77
Contributor
Contributor

Increasing memory on a linux vm, what about swap?

I just doubled the amount of memory allocated to a CentOS vm. Needless to say, now my swap is too small. My swap is I have tried to use lvmresize on my guest after turning swap off but, it can't increase the size.

#> lvm lvresize /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 -L +2G

Extending logical volume LogVol01 to 4 GB

Insufficient free space: 128 extents needed, but only 0 available

What is the best procedure for doing this?

I suppose I could create another virtual disk and use it as my swap and abandon the old swap space, but I am a newbie and somehow question if this is the best method.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
VTsukanov
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

0 Kudos
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal

I suggest to do not use LVM for swap partition.

You can add a new disk and build a swap partition on it.

Or you can use dd, create a fixed size file and format as a swap file.

I just doubled the amount of memory allocated to a CentOS vm. Needless to say, now my swap is too small.

Swap and RAM size are not related.

Only my virtual Linux box I use a fixed swap size independent of the RAM size.

Andre

Andrew | http://about.me/amauro | http://vinfrastructure.it/ | @Andrea_Mauro
0 Kudos
MartinPasquier
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

My way is to don't follow the rule which says "The swap file must be between 1 and 3 times the RAM size" for my virtual machines.

Why ?

Because when a server swap, its performances are very very very bad ... So I give them a swap space, but not too big... and imagine if you have 144Gb RAM ... You create a 288Gb SWAP partition ? 288 GB which will never used ...

Regards

Martin Pasquier

0 Kudos
J1mbo
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

By adding more RAM the guest should swap less..., I've never really understood the "between 1 and 3 times" thing for this reason.