VMware Cloud Community
NTexasIT
Contributor
Contributor

I have a ESXi VM but do not know the password to the system. I also do not know the password for the VSphere Client. The IT person who used to be here is deceased. We are moving buildings. What can I do?

We are moving the network to a new building.  I have no way of getting the password for the ESXi machine or the VSphere Client.  (I can't even figure out if we do have support because I do not have access to that documentation.)  Am I able to shut down the machines in the server room, move them over to the new facility, fire them up, and expect to work?  Just like everything else I believe you have to log in to the machine for it to work.  What are my options?  I am new to the ESXi system.  I don't have the passwords and need to move this network.  Please help ASAP!

6 Replies
bhards4
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Hi,

Pls let me know  which ESXi version you are using..

Pls find below method method for ESX3.x AND 4.x

ESXi 3.5, ESXi 4.x, and ESXi 5.x

Reinstalling the ESXi host is the only supported way to reset a password on ESXi.  Any other method may lead to a host failure or an unsupported configuration due to the complex nature of the ESXi architecture. ESXi does not have a service console and as such traditional Linux methods of resetting a password, such as single-user mode do not apply. 

ESX 3.x and 4.x

Note: This section does not apply to ESXi. See the ESXi section of this article.

To change the password for the root user on an ESX 3.x or ESX 4.x host, you must reboot into single-user mode. To do this, follow these steps:

1. Reboot the ESX host.

2. When the GRUB screen appears, press the space bar to stop the server from automatically booting into VMware ESX.

3. Use the arrow keys to select Service Console only (troubleshooting mode).

4. Press the a key to modify the kernel arguments (boot options).

5. On the line presented, type a space followed by the word single .