VMware Cloud Community
Xironet
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I can not clone my VM

Hi,

I am very new to the world of VMware. I setup a host, installed ESxi 5.1, and then from a second PC connected to my host using VM client.

Then installed server2008 and now I want to clone this VM so that I can create a virtual network in order to practice for my Microsoft exam. The help files suggest that I can right click on the VM and select clone. The problem is, I do NOT have this option when I right click, so what am I supposed to do? any idea anyone please.

Many thanks for your help in advance.

Regards,

Hamid

10 Replies
karthickvm
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

Hi Xironet,

Welcome to VMware communities !!!.

You will get clone option only when you add ESXI host to a vCenter.

Please try this.

You can do the following:

1)  Create your new VM

2)  Edit the VM and delete the virtual HD that was added

3)  run vmkfstools -i  /source_path/source.vmdk / dest_path/dest.vmdk

4)  Edit the VM and add a new virtual HD - use an existing VMDK file.

5)  Power on your VM and run sysprep, etc.

The reason for creating the VM first is to get all the VM's files into one folder.  If you create a folder first, then copy the VMDK and then create the new VM,  you'll end up with 2 folders:  NEW_VM and NEW_VM_01.

Karthic.
vRNI TPM
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Welcome to the Community - Cloning is a feature of vCenter- what you can do is copy the directory contain the files that make up your VM or you can use VMware converter to create a new copy -

If you find this or any other answer useful please consider awarding points by marking the answer correct or helpful
Xironet
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi,