VMware Cloud Community
samrocks1
Contributor
Contributor

How to pass all the physical nics directly to the guest.

Hi All,

I am new to vmware esxi 7.0. I have 8 interfaces on my physical server and I want to pass all the 8 interfaces to the guest so that all the ip addresses assigned on the guest are pingable.

What is the network design I should opt for ?

I already tried by assigning a dedicated physical nic to a vSwitch and then creating a new port group.I assign these port group in order when I create a new virtual machine.This method works fine till i create 3 port groups and assign to the vm network menu but as soon as I increase it to 4 all the other interfaces in the guest stop pinging including the management network.

Any leads will really be helpful 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
16 Replies
depping
Leadership
Leadership

Why would you need to use physical interfaces for this? Wouldn't it be easier to use VLANs and configure the interfaces connected to the portgroup on which the VMs is attached to allow those VLANs?

0 Kudos
samrocks1
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the reply !!
My software architecture forces me to pass each physical interface to the vm.

Is it possible to do it ?

Cheers !

0 Kudos
depping
Leadership
Leadership

You may want to provide more details, which software? What is the Guest OS? As this appears to be a more a "gues os" issue then a VMware issue.

0 Kudos
Arthos
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

There are other ways to solve your problem. But if you are specifically looking for assigning physical nics to vm.

You can use PCI passthru functionality. Refer the below link , please.

https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/7.0/com.vmware.vsphere.networking.doc/GUID-386F225C-C890-4...

Once the device is set for passthru. One can add it to a vm from vm settings. This requires full vm memory reservation.

if it helps, consider marking it as helpful.

0 Kudos
Hasaranga007
Contributor
Contributor

HI @Arthos 

Hi @Arthos  ,