VMware Cloud Community
kurtwalters
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

How to convert a ESXi 4.0 VMWare Machine to run on VMWare Player

Hi Experts

I am new to VMWare and need some help, we are currently running ESXi 4.0, I have the following installed on our Windows server (Windows Server 2003 - Std Edition SP2):

- VMWare vSphere Client 4.0

- VMWare vSphere Host Update Utility 4.0

- VMWare vCenter Converter Standalone

Currently we have x2 VM Machines on our ESXi server (ISSDBN01 & ISSSAP), the installation of ISSAP has Windows Server 2008 Standard Editon R2 and SAP, I am now wanting to convert this VM Machine (ISSAP) so I can play it on / through VMWare Player. My steps were as follows:

- Power off the machine that needs converting

- Make sure I am on the Users & Groups settings

- Convert the VM Machine (ISSSAP) using VMWare vCenter Converter Standalone

When the conversion is finished it converts it to a 145GB file (this is stored on a external harddrive and the machine has x2 100GB drives = C Drive and Data Drive), I select the .vmx file with VMWare Player (version 3.0.1.11056) which I am running off my Laptop (which is running Windows Vista Business SP2, 4GB of RAM), but it doesn't seem to boot up it keeps saying "Windows is loading Files", I googled it and came across someone adding the resolution settings to the .vmx file.

I am not to sure what to do now as I need to convert this machine as soon as possible as I have to get a copy of this machine and do test upgrades (As the server is going to be broken up and most parts used for our Hosted Server); can someone help me on what steps I need to take to make sure I convert it correctly so I can play this converted machine through VMWare Player.

Thanks very much for any help, much appreciated.

Regards

Kurt Walters

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Hello Kurt,