VMware Cloud Community
ChrisLukowski81
Contributor
Contributor

How to best encrypt a Windows file server drive in ESXi 5 for HIPAA compliance?

Hi,

I work for a medical practice and we're in a bit of a bind. Turns out that HIPAA laws require us to encrypt any data that may contain PHI and I suspect quite a few docs on our Server 2003 file server do. What I'd like to do is either create a new virtual disk (which would exist on our physical RAID array) that is entirely encrypted for the purposes of migrating user shares to, or create a new Server 2008 VM and migrate our data over if using BitLocker is our best bet.

I'm very new to encryption so a "101" explanation of the best route would be helpful. I understand it at a basic level but have no experience in deploying it on file shares that are accessed by multiple users. What I don't want is for them to have to enter in a password every time they access something on their user share. Ideally I'd like the end result to behave identically (from a user perspective) to their current mapped drives. I've heard of whole disk encryption that requires a password or USB key on boot-up but am not sure if those solutions are compatible with VMware servers. I also would like to avoid a complicated Active Directory Certificate Server solution unless there is some benefit to it. Finally, a solution that doesn't require me to manually modify each PC or laptop that would connect to the share would be ideal.

Thanks,

Chris

BTW- If anybody suggests BitLocker, can you also give your thoughts on the following FB article that states BL is not supported with VMware? http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=203614...

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
sparrowangelste
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

bitlocker is ruled out in your case because the article essentially states that  if something happens, vmwre and microsoft both will pass the buck since the config isnt supported.